Prayer Take 1/40

This is the start of our church praying for 40 days for our Take It to the Streets Ministry. Each day will have a scripture reading, a list things to pray for and I will write a quick devotional thought from the day’s passage. The schedule is not original with us but is built off of YouVersion’s Bible App.

Todays Scripture is Isaiah 6:1-6

How is your speech? Can you admit like Isaiah that your lips are unclean and so are the lips of the people around you? Do you need a cleansing of your tongue?

Everyone does, especially when we compare what we say to the Holiness of God.

Today start your prayer time by asking for God to cleanse your lips. Confess to God any miss use of your speech from yesterday and even this morning. If you have gossiped, confess it, if you have cussed confessed it, if you have used “angry words” ask for forgiveness for that. If you have broken someone’s confidence because you told something that you were trusted with to keep secret, confess that as well.

- Pray that you will be a neighbor people can trust

- Pray for your neighbors that all will be healed of past hurts caused by abusive speech, whether it was shouted in an argument or they were gossiped about.

- Pray for Take 5.2 – as we prepare to give the gospel to our community this Christmas Season

- Pray for Take 13 – our Traveling Trunk or Treat that we will be able to make positive contacts in our community and see people not only come to our church as a result of that connection but also see many come to know Jesus as their Savior.

- Personal Prayer Challenge – Today Pray for God to help you speak only beneficial words to other people and that God will help you not complain or cast anyone in a negative light.

13 comments

  1. praying that not only would God cleanse my lips but the He would purge my heart…”for the mouth speaks what the heart is full of” Luke 6:45b

  2. Nancy on October 15, 2012 prayed—-”my thoughts today will be positive to others and that I will pray for my neighbors and the coming election—-praying and thankig God for all blessings.

  3. I prayed for Take It to the Streets today and all that was listed above….

    (During my read through had to do some additional editing… if you read it before I got to it (and many of you did) Im sorry about those mistakes.

  4. I prayed for Take It to the Streets, after a time of confession. The subject of unclean lips always convicts me. Praying that God will use FBC to shine light in the darkness.

  5. I really enjoyed this scripture. It gave me significant pause to really think about things I had said throughout my day and how the words I spoke affected others. Also, how they may have made me look. It was a good reminder of being more aware of what my speech says about me and my faith. I don’t want to be a potential block to others or a discouragement. I pray that I remember this for a long long time. Thank you for giving me something to think about. I also realize that I need to be careful with this with my family also.

Leave a Reply

