Coaching

Well, I had my first basketball practice as the head coach of the Wake Forest Demon Deacons WCCC Mini Mites this past Monday night. We have a great group of kids and I’m looking forward to our basketball season.

Now, if you know me, you may be thinking… “Why is Phillip coaching? He doesn’t have a athletic bone in his body.” This is true… I am not very athletic but I have played the game and know somethings about it. I have also watched three years of my kids playing in the Mini Mite division, been to all their practices, and observed things along the way.

So I know just enough to be able to lead. Because leadership is not based solely on what you know but its about who you know.

Jeff Shouse is my assistant coach, he has helped with teams in the past and he has experience with helping kids in this age group grasp the basics of basketball.

At the last practice ( which was our first) we pulled some parents from the stands to help with dribbling and passing exercises. They did a great job.

Jeff and I have already talked about what went well and what needs to be improved for our next practice. His input has helped us improve our practice plan. Frankly I had some things planed that would not work and somethings that were a good idea. I have learned that in leadership you do not have to know it all. In fact the organization is better when you see things through the eyes of other people and organize people’s strengths around a centralized focus.

Leadership is really about who you know and being ok with not being the expert on everything. Leadership is about pointing people with a skill set in the direction the organization ( in this case the team ) needs to go.

I have no doubt we will have a good season… Why? Well it’s not because of my athletic skill…. It’s because gifted people have signed up to do their part to the best of their ability to make our children the best they can be.

I’m just guiding the process…

and that is leadership.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

