An Unfortunate Recap

It started 2. Weeks ago I would say, our heat pump started “acting up”. No better yet it started before then when our dishwasher stopped draining water and our clothes dryer quit doing it’s job. These were the beginnings of a series of unfortunate events… which included a contact ripping two Saturday’s ago and the killing of my first deer of the season on Monday a week ago, which I used my Audi A4 to do it.

The dryer and dishwasher are now fixed.

I have contacts now…. This is a good thing.

Our heat pump issue will be fixed today or tomorrow… The compressor is the issue.

I am taking my car today see how much it will take to get it fixed. ( we do not have comp which is a surprise to us and is also a part of our string of unfortunate events)

But it’s ok… and we give thanks.

In the past people dried clothes outside and washed dishes by hand. It is a blessing to have these items in our house.

In the past people heated with electrical heat and or a fire place. We have gas logs and our Em Heat works so we have not gone with out the ability to heat our home.

Only 4% of the world has a car and 2% have more than one car. At the beginning of the last century most still traveled by foot or horse in our country and the Wright Brothers were just starting to tinker with their airplane and Ford Motor Company was on the cutting edge of technology. I am typing this on the web, via iPad while listening to the Thanksgiving mix I created in iTunes ( see the blog roll on the side of this page for the link) all concepts they had not even thought of. I am thankful for them and all the things the modern age has to offer that makes our lives a little less harsh.

But most importantly I am thankful for the new life Christ has give to me, not based on anything that I have done but based on His sacrifice on the cross for me and the whole world.

It is a privilege to be His son, apart of His family, and to be set apart to serve Him and others. The dishwasher can go out and venison can come with a large price tag but that is nothing to be compared with the Glory that is to come for those in God’s family.

And I give thanks for all of that.

3 comments

  1. I am thankful for the new life Christ has give to me, not based on anything that I have done but based on His sacrifice on the cross for me and the whole world.

    It is a privilege to be His son, apart of His family, and to be set apart to serve Him and others. The dishwasher can go out and venison can come with a large price tag but that is nothing to be compared with the Glory that is to come for those in God’s family.

    I too am thankfull for a new life and being a part of a large family Gods family it is wonderful to have great brothers and sisters in Christ that are there to support you when you need it

  2. I can completely relate and more important appreciate your message Phillip.
    Like you stated, it seems to always be something going crazy or wrong. My refrigerator stopped working, thankfully the freezer still works!! After weighing all my options, it turned out cheaper to buy a new one than to repair it. My dishwasher hasn’t worked in over a year but I still have two hands to handle the job. This time last year I had to replace my heat pump. In each instance I just threw my hands up and gave it all up to the Lord in the heat of my frustration. It seems that almost immediately after just recognizing its all ultimately in His hands, the solution and peaceful feeling followed.
    How thankful am I ??? Words cannot express!!!!!
    I too, am and will be eternally grateful to the Savior for His love, compassion and grace.
    Thank you for sharing your testimony!!
    May your family have a beautiful and blessed Thanksgiving.
    Katrina Grindstaff

Leave a Reply

