Day 10 – Proverbs 10


Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

The Mouth of the wicked conceals violence (10:16) covers up what is rally happening, paints over it with flowery words of deceit.

The Mouth of the righteous is a fountain of life (10:11) brings hope, challenge, encouragement, instruction and wisdom.

The mouth of a fool brings ruin, (10:14) it destroys people’s lives…

for it lacks control…

so damaging words flow, and flow until someone drowns.

The mouth of the righteous brings wisdom (10:31) improves people’s lives, it is careful in what it says, and says only things that refresh, build up, challenge and instruct.

The mouth of the Wicked is perverse (10:32) they use words that are NASTY to hear.

Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

Wisdom can be found on the lips of those that understand. (10:13) Those who take the time to listen and think. That are humble enough to take instruction and change.

Lies are found on the lips of those that use nice words to cover up the hatred they have for you. (10:18) Take note here – You can’t trust them.

The person that bites their lip, and controls it is very prudent (10:19) They have great will power.

The lips of the righteous feed many (10:21) they build people up, encourage people , help people, and provide needed instruction and wisdom to those who are hungry for it.

The lips of the righteous utters the right kind of words (10:32) They never say words that are nasty or perverse. They only uses words that bring life.

Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

The tongue of the righteous is choice silver (10:20) it is of high value to all who hear it.

The tongue of a fool has no value, in fact it makes everything sick with what it says. That’s why one day it will be cut off and done away with (10:31)

Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

Whoever utters slander is a fool (10:18) – enough said

Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

When words are many, someone is trying to cover something up (10:19)

Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

Someone who keeps babbling on and on about this and that will ruin themselves in the end (10:8,10)

Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

Here are the questions that came to me today as I read these words…

First – Which of these statements describes me? What category does the words I use place me in? (we all fit somewhere.)

Is my mouth an instrument of life or death to people?

Do my lips build people up?

Is my tongue an asset to my ministry? Does it improve my relationships with people?

Does it utter words of value?

These five words…

Mouth

Lips

Tongue

Utters

Words

Babbling

Show us if we are agents of destruction…

or people that add value to others.

I want to make sure I add value to others with the words I choose to use…

That was my take away from this passage…

and my prayer.

What did you see in the passage today?

8 comments

  1. It’s so ironic. I asked my Bible Fellowship Class to pray for my family this past Sunday for wisdom on a situation with my neighbors that has been going on for years. I was late joining this group and have just finished reading all 10 days. Through these scriptures and the words of those following this blog God has shown me and you guys have led me to a new understanding of what I need to work on. Thank you so much !

    1. My husband Brent and I attend CG.. You know me by my given name Susan Naylor. I hadn’t heard or seen anything about you in awhile. Wanted to see what was going on with you and your church, noticed your blog and was hooked instantly.

  2. I m in prayer about a very specific situation and I saw that while I am really trying to work on holding my tongue that rotten old devil WS trying his best to trip me up…. I held firm and instead of engaging this person, I simply told her I was in prayer for situations such as this and I was really working on my reactions, thoughts and judgements…. Shew…. Good verses for me today. A reminder that I have to be on point and ready to use my armor of God constantly…

  3. I always want to be wise but controlling the tongue is no small task. Knowing and loving Wisdom helps me to be more wise.

  4. That’s right Bonnie… it is hard to not say what you feel like saying… its hard to think before an utterance hits the mouth. For me its an everyday struggle to control my tongue… the days I do not struggle are the ones where I say some stupid and foolish things I wish I could take back.

Leave a Reply

