Day 2 – Proverbs 2


These verses struck me, not sure why…. but they stood out none the less…. “To deliver you from the way of evil, from the man who speaks perverse things;those who leave the paths of uprightness to walk in the ways of darkness” (2:12-13)

I want to be delivered… from the way of evil… from people who do not guard what they say. It is these voices, this sort of “miss” information that leads us into darkness. A darkness that is so black we believe the bad things we hear and it curves the way we think and destroys our relationships.

This information continues because the ones we have listened too “delight in doing this evil” and rejoice in the destruction that happens as a result (2:14).

But if we become attentive to wisdom, and seek to understand in a way where we can discern, we will see through those whose purpose is to tear down others. We will see the lack of the guarding of the tongue. We will see the foolish sayings we have given an ear too and see those words for what they are… folly.

That is a treasure worth seeking for, hidden as it may be. (2:4)

Do you seek wisdom in every situation like you would if you were looking for Silver that you knew was there, or a hidden treasure you would have to follow a map to find? A map that would keep you from “deceptive” hiding places, and point you to the real treasure… life.

Wisdom is more of a guard rail for us, it keeps us away from the dangerous terrain of ruin and on the path of justice, equity, and righteousness. It keeps us on a very good course. (2:10)

So be careful today… who you listen to. Ask God for wisdom to process any information you receive… He will probably tell you to listen to the other side(s) of the issue.

Now I know this chapter speaks also about foolish actions we are to avoid and the benefits of seeking wisdom… but I can’t cover everything.

So what did you see from the passage?

6 comments

  1. Verses 4-6 jumped out at me. How do we search for hidden treasure? By digging…investigating….This year I want to dig even deeper in the Word, to learn more about God. The Lord gives wisdom, and from His mouth comes knowledge and understanding (v.6). God’s wisdom–priceless.

    1. Bill, I don’t know if you listen to k-love, but there is a singer that comes on there and he is talking about the inspiration for one of his songs…. He says, “I use to read the bible to finish” he goes on to say he now reads to actually understand, I don’t know but I think maybe this step is part of that wisdom?? To seek the true meaning of the words instead of just to finish the section…I have been the one to just read to finish… and I never have… hopefully that will change this year. 🙂

      1. Paula, you hit the nail on the head for me. Often, I find myself reading the Bible as a task….something to do just so that I could claim to have read it. That being said, I also could never understand why things just weren’t “clicking.” Maybe, it is because I looked at it was an obligation, something that was expected of me, rather than something I WANTED to do versus something I WANT to understand, and WANT grow from. 🙂 I now see that I need to take my time in the word, and dig further. I think about how often a person, like myself, reads a book for entertainment….the time and effort it takes for one to finish the book, yet rarely picks up the Bible to maintain a relationship with God. I can’t even begin to imagine how it makes God feel when we put more effort and energy into reading something else or focusing on worldly views more so than him and his wisdom.? It also makes me think about people we emphasize all of our time, energy, thoughts toward, yet do so little with God. How sad he must be, and I can say that I am ashamed because I have been guilty. (I hope this makes sense, am I???)

  2. Verses 7&8 were what jumped out at me today. The promises of victory,His shield that guards and protects those who are faithful and upright. What comfort we can glean from those few short verses. In contrast, the outcome from partaking in the lifestyle with evil:
    broken promises, shattered trust and ruined relationships! Oh how I desire to reap the benefit of seeking God’s wisdom!

  3. These verses remind me of my job.. I have recently taken a management position and though not the same, wow have my eyes been opened to why and how things come down the pipe… as a staff nurse, you only saw things show up. This left lots of complaints and arguements as to why they were done.. but from an area (management) where I have more information and a different view I can really understand and see more of how and why and that can make all the difference in the world… This increased information also allows my responses to be different than they would be if I were not in this role…. amazing how practical the Bible can be when you stop reading to finish and begin to apply and understand what it really means…. Could I be growing? WOO HOOO!!!!

  4. I really like what duzisuzi had to say. Not that the others weren’t good, but she said what I was thinking while reading that passage. I was thinking about how just simply doing right is a protection against anything. Not that we won’t still be attacked. In fact, we may be attacked even MORE because we are doing right, but integrity will be our shield. He will protect those who walk with integrity and protect HIS good name. We may go through the ringer in the process, but in the end, we will be shown to have done what is right. That way, not only is the RESULT honoring to God, but we honor Him in the PROCESS as well.

    This reminds me that we don’t have to go about vigorously trying to defend ourselves. We want to “look good” in the eyes of other people, and we want it NOW instead of at the end of the process. This brings us to the point of scrambling to defend ourselves which can lead to saying and doing things that are out of sorts. A litle patience, and a little faith that God will handle it, goes a LONG way in this process. It’s hard as humans to wait on God, but so worth it.

Leave a Reply

