Day 4 – Proverbs 4


Have you ever been walking and neglected to watch where you were going? It sort of reminds me of that old joke that goes…

“3 men walked into a bar… the other one ducked”.

I have neglected to watch where I was going when driving a car. Running off the road, swerving and insurance claims was the result of taking my eyes off the “path”.

Not good.

Heres what Proverbs says…

“Let your eyes look directly ahead and let your gaze be fixed straight in front of you. Watch the path of your feet and all your ways will be established. Do not turn to the right or left; turn your foot from evil” (4:25-27)

Are you watching where you are going?

There are many distractions in this life. Things that pull at us. Things that try to get our attention. They seem harmless so we look, we swerve we run off the road and find ourselves heading toward a crash.

Are you watching where you are going?

Now so far, you have kept up with the reading… You have kept up with the 31 day challenge. Watch out for the things that will pull you away from reading God’s word. Trust me… they will come. (If things already have pulled you away recommit, get back on the road)

Are you watching where you are going?

You went to church on Sunday, Monday has already happened, Tuesday is in process… Are your eyes straight ahead on the path of wisdom? The path of faithfulness, the path of righteousness? If not who is your distraction? Is it that person at work that doesn’t have a clean tongue? The people that never have anything good to say? That person that pulls you aside and says hey look at this? Is it the TV show that takes you away from your time with God? Is it the book that you “just have to finish” reading? Is it the circumstance you are currently going through… good or bad? What is in your life that is pulling you, distracting you from following God’s path?

Its time to identify it, note it, and make sure it doesn’t cause you to swerve again. It may mean kicking it out of your life or it may mean when it comes around you, do not give it your attention because you know…

you’ve gotta keep your eyes on the path God has laid out for you…

Now what did you see today… what stuck out to you? Don’t feel like you have to write a lot, you can just share the verses that popped out, or a sentence about it. It will be an encouragement to the rest of us….

6 comments

  1. vs. 11 GUIDE, vs. 23 GUARD
    these two words stuck out to me!!!! I need to guard the wisdom and knowledge God has blessed me with so He can guide me on the path! When I guard his words in my heart he will guide my steps, he will keep me from stumbling. I must turn away from the path that leads to destruction, stop swerving from the right and left… stay focused on Him!

  2. The phrase “be attentive” is repeated a couple of times. It is active, something I need to do every hour, minute, and second of the day. Key words include “hear, accept, incline.” Verse 21 spoke to me: “Let them not escape from your sight; keep them within your heart.”

  3. I love this entire chapter!! I especially love the part about keeping your eyes straight forward. How much better life is when I KNOW I am walking in the path God set for me… I have walked both paths in my time and I KNOW this one, though not always easy, is RIGHT. Awesome. This one will be bookmarked! Love it!

  4. I’m with Bill on this one…”be attentive”. It is said in verse 1, but only after Solomon says to “hear”. He said “hear” my words, and then he said “and be attentive”. I can think of so many times when I’ve stopped my son from doing something he was not supposed to do, and have told him “listen to me”. Only saying that, I know he may hear the words I am about to say, but because he is not looking at me, I know he is not “attentive” to the wisdom I am about to impart. Why do I know this? Because I was once the son, and my father had to do the same to me.

    Solomon reflects as well on his time with his father, having to listen and be attentive. There are so many things I find myself falling back on that I learned from my father. Those close to me are probably tired of hearing my say “my dad used to say…”. Those with more “life experience” around us are the ones we need to be looking to for wisdom. I have the extreme pleasure of having great in-laws as well, and my father-in-law is another who I love going to seeking wisdom. He and my dad are wise in different areas, which is a great benefit!

    Who are the “more experienced” people in your life who you can go to for wisdom? Obviously, we look to God’s Word, but who in your life has LIVED God’s Word, and can train you to do the same?

  5. Guard your heart;
    Our love and desires dictate how we live because we will always find the time to do what we enjoy. Solomon is telling us in verse 23 to guard our hearts to be sure that our desires do not lead us astray. It is far too easy in todays world to let one little desire after another get you off course until one day you wake up in the darkness like in verse 19 not knowing how you got to this point.

  6. One of the great themes from this passage are the action words and phrases such as: “pay attention” and “guard”. One of my favorite sayings is “I want to be proactive, not reactive”. To me that sums up this chapter in a nutshell. When being proactive in our spiritual life and following God’s will we remain where he wants us to be. Unfortunatly when we deviate from that path then we become reactive to circumstances. It is usually then we are seeking God asking for a get out of jail free card.
    On a side note, you will notice that I’m posting on 1/7 instead of 1/4. I thought it was ironic about Phillip’s post mentioning if you were lagging behind. Sometimes I feel like my life’s story is if I’m breathing I’m late for something. Looks like I need to be a little more proactive and a little less reactive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

