Day 5 – Proverbs 5 (Rated-PG)


No one really wants to talk about this… No One. Even those that have the courage to speak up do so in hiding most of the time. It makes us feel uncomfortable, squirm in our seats, we would rather for it not to be brought up at all… but it needs to be. This “subject” that we would rather not attack head on, attacks us, destroys relationships, and ruins lives. The interesting thing? It can destroy your life and you may not realize the damage that has happened for years. For one day down the road, when the smoke is still thick and “she” has taken your family, your money and your life from you… the weight of all the destruction will be realized and it will feel like a trillion lead balloons on your shoulders. (5:9-13)

How do you avoid this?

Stay away from other women… stay faithful to your wife.
Stay away from provocative pictures of other women… stay faithful to your wife.
Stay away from thinking about other women… stay faithful to your wife. (5:8)(5:15-19)

There are women out there that want to destroy your family… but it will not seem like that’s what they are after.

Her words are designed to draw you in, her speech is smooth,(5:3) but know and remember she is deadly (5:4-6)

Stay away. Don’t even go near her.

Instead focus on your wife, “drink water from that cistern, from the well that is your own” (5:15)

“But its hard for me to do that… you don’t live with her, and this woman over here…”

Stay away! Listen to Proverbs 5!

“But its hard for me to do that, my wife never wants to kiss me any more, she rarely touches me, its been weeks, months, years… and this woman over here…”

Stay Away! Listen to Proverbs 5!

Here is how the “but its hard for me to do that” thinking ends. “For the ways of a man are before the eyes of the Lord and He watches all his paths. His own iniquities will capture the wicked, and he will be held with the cords of his sin. He will die for lack of instruction, and the greatness of his folly he will go astray.” (5:21-22)

Stay faithful to your wife… enjoy her. Work through what ever conflict you have that is preventing you from allowing your intiment moments to be what they should be.(5:15-19)

I am not expecting too many comments on this chapter… but it would be great to hear what jumped out at you from the passage. Please do not be afraid to comment on this subject.

6 comments

  1. My wife and I have been married for 18 years. I thank the Lord for my best friend and soul-mate. I am “intoxicated with her love” (v. 18).

  2. Oh, I have plenty to say on this one! My husband and I were both cheated on by our first spouses…. We understand this chapter all too well. My husband has a philosophy that is VERY simple. “Don’t put yourself in the situation”. Run… Get away at all costs… My advice is also pretty simple… Find something about him that you like…even when you don’t “like” him! I can honestly say that even when I am angry with him, I still find him VERY attractive! So even if I don’t like him… I LIKE him!! Maybe TMI, but it works for us! We also have an EXTREME respect for one another, we are both very outgoing so we have to. Talk, laugh, find one thing that you can always like and don’t put yourself in a place that entertains ANYTHING away from your spouse! Verse 15 is my favorite!!

  3. As a red-blooded, American guy, Proverbs 5 is about as practical and important as advice gets. EVERYTHING in our culture today is designed to “trap” us with the snare of lust. Being visually stimulted creatures, the world has made it its mission to put pleasing visual pictures everywhere! A toothpaste commercial that you can’t tell is a commercial for toothpaste until the very end of the ad…Abercrombie and Fitch clothing ads that contain no clothing…every website known to mankind…all designed to trap and ensnare. It’s not a topic that makes us feel comfortable to talk about, but it’s a topic we can’t avoid whether we talk about it or not. As men of God, we need to be holding one another accountable. As a church, we need to encourage one another and hold each other accountable to speaking kindly about our spouses. Society is not going to suddenly start making this any easier…

  4. what is awesome is to have a husband that lives by Proverbs 5! After 22 years of marriage, my husband still showers me with love! as wives of Godly men, we need to remember to show our husbands how much we respect and appreciate and value them & their efforts to be Godly husbands & fathers!

  5. Let me say that I agree with Phillip and Nate wholeheartedly. There are women who see a wedding band on a man’s finger and they view it as nothing more than a challenge. Also, everything in popculture is targeted to promote lust whether it be lust for a person or object. When my husband left the sales field and began working in a more gender mixed office setting my advice was this: Be careful when you are around the opposite sex. Never do or say anything that you would not want me to be witness to, eventually all secrets are revealed. Understand that as a man you do not think like a woman. What may seem an innocent gesture to you will seem as an open invitation to a woman desperate for love. In most cases and especially outside of marriage, men view sex as an act, women view it as love even if it is an isolated event. Men, be careful were you eyes lead your feet, it could lead to a path ending in destruction.

Leave a Reply

