Day 12 – Proverbs 12


Booty… love that word in 12:12! It brings with it a sense of piracy… Yo Ho and a Bottle of Rum. Captain Jack Sparrow… savvy?

Booty comes from a word that means net. Here the implication is “that which is caught in ones net”. When we cast a net we are taking in things that we did not produce. We are taking things that are not ours and making ourselves the owners of said items. Thus booty.

“The wicked man desires the booty of evil men” (12:12) He desires to take from the “wealth” of evil men and make it his own. He desires to take it to satisfy his need to have it.

So he looks at what other evil men have and devises ways he can take it from them. Why does he do this? Because he is wicked and he cannot produce things on his own. He lives in a world where “he with the most toys wins”.

But the righteous man does not have a need to take anything from anybody.

Why?

His righteousness has a root system thats produces fruit, on its own, and it is fruit that lasts. In fact the person who walks in righteousness yields rewards that are great and lasting. Rewards that cannot be taken away from him… they will never become someone else’s booty.

Are you a taker or a producer? What pathway do you follow?

What did you see from the passage?

3 comments

  1. Verse 25 stood out to me today, “Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad.” Am I anxious, worried, fretting? Not right now, but I have been and will be. Worrying weighs me down and takes my eyes off my Savior and places my focus on ME and my problems. “Casting all your cares upon him for he cares for you.” I am thankful for those little encouraging words from loved ones and knowing that others are upholding me in prayer.

  2. That’s good Bill, I also like the reminder of the rat of that verse ” but a good word makes it glad”. We need to encourage each other… Something I need to learn to do more of.

  3. Verse 9 stood out to me immediately…. “Better to be a nobody and yet have a servant
    than pretend to be somebody and have no food.” I really like this verse. Some members of my family are wealthy…. They have earned it straight out, but none the less they have plenty and then there is me… Now I do fine… I can pay my bills and purchase something should I want it, even if I have to save a couple weeks. But there is always food and heat and I often am reminded of that when I feel like I want to have some of what they have, that the grass isn’t always greener and I have chosen my path well. I am in a fairly stable career, I have a gazillion kids and can still eat and heat our home… When I find myself wanting what others have I can tuck this in and hold on to it knowing that those things are fleeting and they are just things… with more money comes more problems, with more things the more you have to uphold an image and as I see some struggle with that I am that much more grateful for my tiny house and used car and steady job….I have PLENTY to take care of and there is nothing fake about any of it… Im pretty proud of that…

Leave a Reply

