6 thoughts about the song “Christmas Shoes”

christmas+shoes+hj2222-1

6. I have really never understood this Christmas song.

5.  It is scary to think that there is a slight possibility that one day there will be a “Christmas Shoes 2” song, where the kid buys shoes for the Dad

4. There is no such thing as Christmas Shoes, they are just shoes… you just happen to wear them at Christmas time.  If you do have special shoes you only wear at Christmas not only do you have a mental problem you also have too many shoes.

3. It miss leads emotional people, and they already cry enough.

2. The whole story isn’t a true story, it is based off of a “spam” email that was sent around to people in 1999.  Thus the reason some things don’t add up. Like where is the kid’s Dad?  If a Dad had been there he could have directed the kid to a more practical gift, because if she is really that sick His mother couldn’t wear the shoes he was buying.  Flowers or some of her favorite Christmas candy would have been a better choice and more affordable.  Besides a dad would have  helped the kid understand she couldn’t wear the shoes when she met Jesus anyway.

The lyrics could have been written this way instead.

“It was almost Christmas time, there I stood in another line
Trying to buy that last gift or two, not really in the Christmas mood
Standing right in front of me was a little boy waiting anxiously
Pacing ’round like little boys do
And in his hands he held a bag of Reese Peanut-Butter Trees

His clothes were worn and old, he was dirty from head to toe
And when it came his time to pay
I couldn’t believe what I heard him say

Chorus:
Sir, I want to buy these Trees for my Mama, please
It’s Christmas Eve and these Peanut Butter Trees are her favorite
Could you hurry, sir, Daddy says there’s not much time
You see she’s been sick for quite a while
And I know these Reese Trees would make her smile
And I want her to taste these one last time before she meets Jesus tonight”

OK – Thats a bit sadder… really…

1. The last line of the bridge of the song says “I knew that God had sent that little boy To remind me just what Christmas is all about”

Christmas is not about what this song is about, even if it was true.  Christmas is about “Happiness, Joy to the World, Ho Ho Ho, mistletoe and presents to pretty girls” (Lucy Van Pelt) NOT sadness, Grief and OH No No No! No one wants to think about death at Christmas time.

So what do we do?

1. Don’t buy the song

2. Don’t look it up on You-Tube

3. If it comes on the radio while you are driving change the channel

4. If it comes on while you are in Walmart, sing Joy to the World out loud or if you don’t want to draw attention to yourself, put your fingers in your ears until its over.

5. Never ever let your kids hear it. This way it will die with our generation and not be passed on to theirs.

(A Quick Note to Emotional People : No I am not totally serious with this post… just partly and I’m having a bit of Christmas fun.)

2 thoughts on “6 thoughts about the song “Christmas Shoes”

  1. One of the best posts ever…I’ve always wondered if someone called Social Services to check on the welfare of the child that has been allowed to go shopping alone, hasn’t had a bath, etc…and yes, when this song comes on I often join in, in my best falsetto…just to live all the emotions it brings out in me!

Leave a comment